• Graduation Year: 2018

Daniel Peled

Major: Biological Sciences

Minors: Art History and Spanish

How did you decide on your major?

I knew from high school that I would major in a science, but I didn’t know which. As my friends infamously remember, I flittered between STEM majors every two weeks dependent on the weather or some other unknown forces of the universe. After many tireless flights between different areas of the life sciences, I comfortably settled down with Biological Sciences and have been greatly satisfied with the outcome. Studying Biological Sciences, I am able to get a feel for many different areas of the life sciences, explore known interests, and expose myself to many topics I would never have otherwise inquired about. I what finally made me choose Biological Sciences was its course flexibility and its breadth of exposure to a variety of areas within the life sciences. It’s a totally designable major, and it is as broad or specific as one makes it, so for me, it was ideal.

What is it about your chosen field (and the department) that appeals to you?

I enjoy that the life sciences deal with the tangible, the daily, and the seemingly mundane. They are investigations into things that we take for granted, like the muscular mechanisms dictating my fingers as they fiddle on the keyboard, or the neurons permitting my memory and language ability to fuse as they type this very text. It's a gift to sit down and appreciate what is so often taken for granted, and to understand, or better yet, figure out how it works.

Do you have favorite class/professor within your major?

My favorite professor was Mai Soliman who taught Genetics 380. She had this way of sitting on top of the desk, humbly cross-legged, and succinctly yet passionately explaining to us a a broad spectrum of topics in the field of Genetics. She made us love it. Sitting in class for six hours a day in the summer is hardly my idea of fun, but she made it just that: fun. Even more, it was exciting, almost like story telling.

What are your favorite academic experiences outside of your major?

My favorite academic experience outside of my major was studying abroad in Valencia, Spain for my junior year. There, I was able to study not only Biology, but also Art History, and Spanish. It was an incredibly rewarding time for me. I learned so much there in the classroom, in research, and in life experience.

What are your other Rutgers activities?

At Rutgers, I am a tutor for the SAS Honors Program Peer Tutoring Program, for which I tutor introductory Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. I also intern in Marketing at the Study Abroad office.

What are your plans following graduation?

After graduation, I would like to ultimately go to medical school. Though the road seems uncertain, I know that's my end goal. I will work for some time beforehand, and I look forward to what lies ahead.

Return to Prospective Students Page